Anurag Thakur has been elected as the new BCCI president replacing Shashank Manohar during the Board’s Special General Meeting (SGM). Shashank Manohar has stepped down from the post because he has been become the ICC chief .

Vadodara's Fatehsinghrao Gaekwad was the youngest BCCI President, Not Anurag Thakur

“Anurag Thakur is the youngest BCCI president” is going viral on the internet since the day he was appointed for his new role in BCCI .

People forgot that Late Indian politician and cricketer and titular Maharaja of Baroda Fatehsinghrao Gaekwad was the youngest to hold the top post at the age of 33 years only and thus Anurag Thakur is the 2nd youngest BCCI president only after Fatehsinghrao Gaekwad.


Gaekwad was a right had batsman who played Ranji Trophy for Baroda from 1946 and 1958 and has scored his highest score of 99 runs in his very first season. Gaekwad was also a very expert commentator on radio and was made life member by the MCC.

After serving as vice-president from 1959 to 1960 and again in 1962-63 Gaekwad was made the BCCI president in India from 1963 to 1966. Gaekwad was famously known as “Jackie Baroda” in England and he managed India’s tour to Pakistan in 1978-79 and 1982-83 and India’s tour to England in 1959.