The FIFA World Cup 2022 has already started On November 20 in Qatar and it’s going to continue till 18th December 2022. The game features 32 nations competing for the million-dollar trophy and the prize money. The amount of money involved in the tournament is enormous since it is the largest single sports quadrennial event in the world.

The FIFA World Cup trophy is probably the most expensive trophy in the world across all major sports. The trophy weighs 6.1 kilograms and is made with 18 carats of gold. While there are other several football trophies that come under the category of the world’s most expensive trophies as well. Here we have listed down the most expensive football trophies in the world.

1) FIFA World Cup trophy

Undoubtedly the FIFA World Cup 2022 trophy is the most expensive football trophy in the world. It is valued at $20 million which is Rs 165 crore. The expensive trophy is made of 13.5 pounds of 18-carat gold and weighs 6.1 kilograms. The trophy is said to be created by the late Italian artist Silvio Gazzaniga. It’s hollow from the inside and depicts two humans holding a globe/earth. The circular base is made of two layers of malachite. The trophy is said to be the most expensive sports trophy in the world and not just in football.

FIFA World Cup Trophy 2022

2) Ballon d’Or Football Trophy

The Ballon d’Or ceremony is the center of attention in the game of football every year. The world’s top football players both men and women are chosen here. Since 1956 the ‘Golden Ball’ has been given to notable figures in the history of football. Mellerio dits Meller the famous French jewelry company designed the trophy. The gold-plated trophy is 28 cm in height and weighs 12 kilograms. The trophy is valued at approximately €508,000 (Rs 4 crores) and is engraved with the FIFA Ballon d’Or logo. Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo ruled world football’s upper ranks from 2008 to 2021 as they won every single Ballon d’Or award except the one that Luka Modric won in 2018.

Ballon d’Or Football Trophy

3) FA Cup trophy

The Football Association Challenge Cup or the FA Cup is one of the top competitions in English football in the world’s oldest national football competition. The FA Cup trophy is valued at €1 million (Rs 8 crore approx) and is made by the English luxury brand Thomas Lyte. The trophy is said to be made of 6.3 kilograms of sterling 925 silver and is 61.5 centimeters tall. It took over 250 hours to make this trophy. It’s currently held by Liverpool, who beat Chelsea in 2022 final.

FA Cup trophy

4) Africa Cup of Nations

The Africa Cup of Nations is the primary men’s association football competition in South Africa. Since it was first held in 1957, three trophies have been awarded to the winners of the competition. The original trophy was the Abdelaziz Abdallah Salem Trophy which was made in silver. Ghana, who became the first nation to win the tournament thrice, was given the trophy permanently in 1978. The second trophy was called the Trophy of African Unity which was awarded from 1980 to 2000. After Cameroon won the competition thrice in 2000 the cylindrical piece was given to them permanently. The current trophy is worth €127,000 (Rs 1.3 crore approx) and is a gold-plated cup made in Italy. Egypt won the cup indefinitely after becoming three-time champions in 2010. However, they were given a replica of the trophy instead of the actual trophy. The winner of each edition now receives a replica instead of the actual trophy.

Africa Cup of Nations

5) Serie A trophy

The Serie A is a professional league in Italian football. The winner gets Coppa Campioni d’Italia and the Scudetto. It is a round-robin competition for more than 90 years since the 1929–30 season. Serie A is one of the top football leagues in the world which has been played since 1929–30. Moreover, it is the nation’s most defensively and tactically efficient league. Ettore Calvelli, a well-known sculptor, created the trophy of this football league. The trophy is 58 cm tall and weighs 8 kilograms. The trophy costs approximately €55,000 (Rs. 44 lakhs). The Serie A trophy’s current champion is AC Milan. The trophy, which has a gold ring in the middle, has the names of all winners engraved on it.

Serie A trophy